The mega-popular app has been updated, but not everyone is happy with the new way people communicate with each other.
Users of popular social media app Snapchat have been warned of a “creepy” update.
The update allows people on Snapchat to find users by their address and even tells users how long it will take them to get there.
The Snap Map update has raised privacy and security concerns among parents and experts.
Last March, a 16-year-old girl was sexually assaulted in Brighton after intruders using cards tracked down a party.
Cybersecurity expert Jordan Foster warned parents about the potential impact of such information.
The “Snap Map” update can be disabled by selecting “Ghost Mode” in the app’s settings.
Earlier this week, Snapchat launched “Snapchat+,” a subscription service that will allow subscribers to view other users’ locations and watch videos for up to 24 hours after they’re posted.
But a Snapchat rep previously told The Daily Mail the company dealt with privacy issues.
“Location sharing via Snap Map is disabled by default, and Snapchat users who choose to share their location will only be able to see and be seen by mutual friends,” the spokesperson said.
“We have zero tolerance for bullying or harassment of any kind and ask Snapchat members to report abuse or any other security issues on the app.”
Originally published as Snapchat: users warned about a new development that allows users to track the exact location