Etzebeth to win 100th cap, Hendrix to 9th and Box to name team in decider

Eben Etzebeth will earn his 100th Test cap as the Springboks were named to face Wales in Cape Town on Saturday in three Test series deciders.

In addition, Jayden Hendrix won the race and became Boxing’s No. 9, edging out Faf de Klerk for the starting role, while Peter-Stef du Toit starts from the flank blind and Trebor Nyakane will wear the No. 1 jersey.

Jasper Wiese is also currently the eighth first pick, while Handre Pollard, who led Boxing in a second Test loss to Wales at Bloemfontein last weekend, is fit to wear the No. 10 jumper.

BASSABOUT READ: Wales ready to go to ‘dark places’ against springboks

Coach Jacques Nienaber also included six strikers on his bench, including all-around winger Franco Mostert and fellow wingers Quaggu Smith and Elrig Lowe.

A total of 11 changes have been made. Starting side lost at Bloemfontein.

Etsebetwho made his Springbok debut in June 2012 against England, will be the seventh player to reach the career milestone of 100 Tests, following in the footsteps of Victor Matfield, Brian Habana, Tendai Mtawarira, John Smith, Jean de Villiers and Percy Montgomery. .

“We selected team and player combinations which we think will be the best for this particular game,” Ninaber said.

“We had an honest conversation with the players and we told them what we need from them this weekend and what we would like to see in terms of their performance, and hopefully they can produce the goods and we can get the desired result.

“We have high standards as a team and we would like to keep them and build momentum ahead of a difficult season.”

Springbok Team:

Damian Willemse, Cheslin Kolbe, Lucagno Am, Damian de Allende, Macazol Mapimpi, Handre Pollard, Jaden Hendrix, Jasper Wiese, Peter-Stef du Toit, Sia Kolisi, Lud de Jager, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Trevor Nyakane. Bench: Malcolm Marks, Steven Kitschoff, Vincent Koch, Franco Mostert, Quagga Smith, Elrig Lowe, Faf de Klerk, Willy le Roux